Good Guys

good guys

GOOD GUYS

This was the most productive thing I did during the Easter long weekend. The background particularly was fun to paint. I went bolder with textured, almost grungy brushes.

Concept-wise, I was loosely inspired by the lyrics of ‘Good Guys’ (Mika again haha) and the words of Oscar Wilde.

and to the romance when I was 14 years old
and to my heroes that were dressed up in gold
only hoping one day I could be so bold
where have all the gay guys gone? 

if we are all in the gutter it doesn’t change who we are
because some of us in gutter, are looking up at the stars 

so tell me,
where have all the good guys
where have all the good guys
where have all the good guys gone?

When we’re kids, we believe that there are ‘good guys’; there are heroes in the world that we one day hope to become. But as we grow up, we become disillusioned. We believe that heroes only exist in fairy tales, and realise that the notions of ‘good’ and ‘evil’ are defined by those that influence the thoughts of society. No one is truly good anymore. In other words, where have all the good guys gone?

So in this digital painting, I wanted to capture the untainted childhood innocence (hence the warm array of colours). Because we are all in the gutter, but some of us, the kids, are looking at the stars.

But then again I’ve barely left childhood lol

 

Honestly, I like painting cool tones better. Maybe I’m just used to it haha.

Leave a Reply

